December 6, 2022

To:

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States Washington, DC 20500

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the US House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader of the US Senate Washington, DC 2051

CC: Members of Congress

Dear President Biden, Speaker Pelosi, and Leader Schumer,

As leaders of environmental and environmental justice organizations representing millions of members and supporters from across the country, we oppose attaching the Energy Independence and Security Act to the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA).

This deal prioritizes the interests of the fossil fuel industry at the expense of the environment and health of frontline communities, which are disproportionately Black, Indigenous, communities of color and low-wealth communities – a move that is not in line with President Biden's commitments to climate and environmental justice.

Congress should be advancing efforts that ensure robust public engagement early in project development and strengthen the requirements for agencies to evaluate cumulative health and climate impacts.

Our opposition includes recommending that House members vote against any rule that advances any version of the Energy Independence and Security Act.

Sincerely,

Kierán Suckling
Executive Director
Center for Biological Diversity

DaMareo Cooper & Analilia Mejia Co-Executive Directors Center for Popular Democracy Marion Gee, Bineshi Albert, Monica Atkins Co-Executive Directors

Climate Justice Alliance

Lori Lodes
Executive Director
Climate Power

Jamie Rappaport Clark

President and Chief Executive Officer

Defenders of Wildlife

Abigail Dillen

President Earthjustice

Jennifer Krill
Executive Director

Earthworks

Wenonah Hauter

Founder & Executive Director

Food & Water Watch

Erich Pica

President

Friends of the Earth

Kaniela Ing

National Director

Green New Deal Network

Annie Leonard

Co-Executive Director

Greenpeace USA

Winona LaDuke

Executive Director

Honor the Earth

Leah Greenberg

Executive Director

Indivisible

Gene Karpinski

President

League of Conservation Voters

Manish Bapna

President and Chief Executive Officer

Natural Resources Defense Council

Elizabeth Bast

Executive Director

Oil Change International

Sulma Arias

Executive Director

People's Action

Stephanie Taylor

Co-Founder

Progressive Change Campaign Committee

Ramón J. Cruz

President

Sierra Club

Varshini Prakash

Executive Director

Sunrise Movement

Peggy Shepard

Executive Director & Co-Founder

WE ACT for Environmental Justice

Maurice Mitchell

National Director

Working Families Party